First time fishing sml in kayak tips.

Kayak fishing main forum.

Moderators: GASMAN, HoosierPaddler, islandspeed2001, Dreads0518

MrMasonsPop

First time fishing sml in kayak tips.

Post by MrMasonsPop » Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:36 pm

First off I am a newbie on forums so I apologize in advance if I make any amateur mistakes. We are heading out on SML this Sunday for the first time on a kayak and was wondering if anyone has any tips for a safe trip. Our normal hunting ground is out of Devils Elbow but decided to try something new. I have read a lot about people coming across gators which normally wouldnt bother me as I I have lived in Florida long enough to know to avoid them . However with us sitting on a kayak a mere foot off of the water we are bound to get a bit closer then we ever have before which presents a new level of anxiety. Are there any certain areas that we should avoid so as not to disturb any hungry reptiles? For some reason I have a vision in my head of us hooking up on a monster red only to have Big Al come along and snatch it up. We have a live well on the back of the kayak so I am not too worried about it once we get it on deck. I always carry my 38 special and my buddy A 40 cal so at least we will have some sorts of protection should anything happen. ( not that I am sure that either one of them will be effective in turning away a gator). Is anyone has any advice we are all ears. Also does anyone have any advice on what rigs to use while out there. We have been having a lot of luck lately with Rapalla Skitterwalk top waters what were wondering live bait would be a better option. Again I apologize is this post is redundant I don't mean to annoy any long term forum users with any amateur mistakes. Thanks for any advise anyone has.

DUCK-DAWG

Re: First time fishing sml in kayak tips.

Post by DUCK-DAWG » Thu Apr 11, 2013 1:46 pm