Home ReviewsArticlesKayak Fishing ForumsTidesWeatherGuidesBait&TackleOnline StoreLinksKayak Fishing SpotsEventsPhoto Gallery
It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 1:18 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 1:49 pm 

I was recently gifted a small trailer to haul my kayak on, and im in process of restoring it. Plan is to strip the frame to bare metal and then repaint, and maybe add a decking surface if so, or even build a mounting sustem for the kayak. For the metal, what type of paint would be durable and able to sustain salt water and the corrosion that can come with exposure to it? Simple spray cans of Rustoleum?

Also, i picked up an anchor trolley kit, and wanted to know if anyone else has installed one on their rig? If so, how much of a challenge is it? I have a WS ATAK 140 if that helps.

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

PostPosted: Mon Jun 11, 2018 8:06 pm 

rangerv88,
Not sure about the trailer, (wish I had one).
I'm a noob to this form but have faced the same question about the anchor trolley.
The biggest thing your going to face, is drilling holes into your yak!!! It is counter-intuitive!!
When I finally did it, all I thought about is; "It's at the water line, I'm going to fill with water and sink"! That is far what happened.
Take your time while installing up-grades. I have a Tamerack Walmart special, (insert laugh now).
Here is what I did.
Research, research, research! Before you do anything to your yak! Watch a few you tube videos on the subject. It matters not the yak they are putting to on, all application is the same.
Follow the directions. Have the right tools! SEAL EVERYTHING! (goop, marine seal, whatever works for your yak, really doesn't matter). Hand tighten anything you attach to the yak. (Don't strip it). Let the seal cure!!! Do not use any bolts, nuts or washer, (if used), that will rust!

PM me if you need help.

PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 3:15 pm