Home ReviewsArticlesKayak Fishing ForumsTidesWeatherGuidesBait&TackleOnline StoreLinksKayak Fishing SpotsEventsPhoto Gallery
It is currently Sun Nov 23, 2014 9:07 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Hobie Pro Angler.
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:46 am 

How many of you have the Hobie Pro Angler? Also have you had any problems with it? If so what and what did you do about it. My wheel cart rubbed a hole in the scupper. Hull had to be replaced. I also got a crack along some molding off to the side of the seat. It was a 2010 model. They have offered to replace the Hull for a small fee but didn't know if this is common or not. Thought I might switch to a out back. I liked the PA except for the weight of it at times. Comfortable and can take a lot of crap with you for a long day on the water. I am rather new to the Hobie/kayak world and looking for advice. Thought a universal cart that don't use the scupper might be good idea. Any advice any of you can provide on taking care of this type of Hobie would be great. Any pictular way you all transport and launch this heavy weight? Thanks!

Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Post subject: Re: Hobie Pro Angler.
PostPosted: Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:22 pm 

Hi Navy, this is a touchy subject on most kayak sites. So, I'll try to be as politically correct as possible. I'm sure I'll still get blasted.

I'm a Hobie revolution owner and got a crack at the front handle within the first year. It was patched by my dealer. A year later, it reappeared. So needless to say I'm bias.

It's probably just me, but I don't believe the quality of the Hobie kayak equals that of other brands. I've seen owner's of other brands treat their's lack crap without ever having problems with cracks. I personally wish Hobie would allow other manufacturers to produce kayaks that fit the mirage drive. If they did, I would not buy a Hobie. But, I would still buy a mirage drive.